YO, hey!
No pictures this time. I tried to find some online to illustrate where our team is going this next block, but I was not satisfied with the pictures that I saw. Anyways, me and my pareja this block, James, are heading to the JUNGLE on the 23rd, I believe, and I am SUPER excited!!
This is what I know about Tena, the town in the jungle we are going to: the community is great, the kids are great, the kids will swim with us in the river on our lunch break, there are sometimes anacondas or deadly snakes in the water so if the kids run out of the water we should run out of the water, the kids like to throw spiders at gringos (this is where I am preparing myself. Spiders and I don't get along.), there are bugs the size of my face, there are tarantulas. I am hosting a team with my pareja James who is 28 years old, and the next youngest person on the team is the same age as my 22 year old brother. I am really excited about having an older team. And, I am SUPER excited about being able to go to Tena in the jungle.
Other than what is ahead of me, as in tomorrow night because the next team comes in tomorrow night (CRAZINESS!). I just got back from watching Beverly Hills Chihuahua with some of my friends, and all I can really remember is the first half of the movie and then waking up when it was over. Leading up to the movie that we watched to night I was told by Adam DeVries that the movie had to be good because one of the lines was, "We aren't in Mexican't........ we're in MexiCAN." Possibly one of the most powerful movie lines on the face of this earth.
And, I was about to climb Pichincha, a freaking SWEET mountain in Quito, but there were a number of things that went wrong. Adam, Matt Smith Sr., and I were ready to go at 5am... we were picked up... we made it up most of the mountain to the place where we were going to start hiking, except that the car started to not run so well towards the top... thus, we had the option of hiking an hour and a half to 2 and a half hours to get to the place where we wanted to start... and then we would have 7ish more hours. I didn't think I would be able to keep up with them since we were in such a hurry... umm, and I would have died regardless of any time restraint... umm, to make a long story a whole heck of a lot shorter... Adam and I were going to hike a different section of the mountain, and after dodging cars that were 2 seconds away from killing us and finding restrooms in really cool schools we decided to hang out with Parish and Sara DeVries, Adam's wife and baby, for the day, which was GREAT!
And I just sneezed three times. I sneeze all the time. At least 3 times.
So, my time off has been really really great... and it is about to end tomorrow... umm, and last most important thing: Caroline, one of my friends and house mates, and I have been cooking the BEST meals ever, and I am in shock that we have been able to do so.
That's it.
good night!
Saturday, June 20, 2009
Wednesday, June 17, 2009
To sum up my first team that came...
...it was FREAKING awesome!
Man, Steve the Pirate and I (Steve the Pirate = my pareja, or partner, and also the guy that I have been working with this whole time... his real name is M
att Smith, but there is another Matt Smith, and now this is going to be a more infrequent sequence of typing because my 11 month year old friend Parish DeVries just woke up and I have to entertain her so that she won't cry.)
This is what Parish had to say:
hg nb gvcbf nbhgfs mn
ewd nm ,mnkjm m ,m v bvc` nb bv nb n nb nb bv b bt bvgggggtb vvvvvvb bv5rtfj jmnjnbmjmhu mnj hgb b
and here is a tribute to Parish, the greatest baby I know right now:
But, to continue on to all of the FPC mission that just left today at 4AM!!... This group was AMAZING! Really great.
We had...
the fearless leaders: Mark, Trey and Linda!!! Everything would have gone HORRIBLY wrong without them. And, it would not have been nearly as fun or great or anything that is good. Then we had 16 of the coolest graduated seniors from high school I had ever met. I was pretty unfamiliar with this group considering that they are from my church. But, man, everyone that didn't know each other that well in the beginning got to know each other. People that may not have been friends became great friends. It was like the ending to a good book, BUT better. The last night every single one of the "kids" (they aren't kids... but for lack of a better word) declared what they were turning their page from... for example, I think I am turning the page from observing to taking action. That is what each of the graduated seniors did. I am super SUPER duper impressed by all of them. There is no way I can put everything I want to about this group on the blog. So, here are pictures:
Ok, I am definitely battling this computer right now in order to upload pictures and it is SUPER frustrating...
-emily
Saturday, June 13, 2009
Friday, June 12, 2009
glances.
The kids at Argelia Alta, when I would pick them up and look straight into their eyes.
When a bunch of the kids wanted to help us paint and were doing an amazing job! They couldn't reach the top of the wall, so Lacy had an idea to put everyone on our shoulders. That's another moment.
When I look out onto the city of Quito from the top of Argelia Alta and see houses and buildings scattered EVERYWHERE. I like to think about what is going on within those communities, within those houses, within those buildings, within those streets, within the families...
The youth in our group continually allow me to see God. Their are 2 guys that have been part of our group for the past few days, and they are both former street kids named Boris and John. Just another God glance.
Thursday, June 11, 2009
"I don't even know what to do with the children after I say 'hola.'"
Today was GREAT.
There were hilarious moments.
Sad moments.
Silent moments.
We went to Argelia Alta, the church we are involved with and worked and played with kids and ate lunches and had fun with each other. One of the greatest moments that I was going to take a picture of, BUT my camera died was... well, this guy named Kevin on our team was wheel burrowing a bunch of dirt from one place to another, and the kids really wanted to help or be involved. So, he would grab the wheel burrow when it was full and say, "LISTOS!?" and all the kids would scream and then they would run up the hill to dump the dirt. Was it efficient? Not at all, but that is what was beautiful about it. It's not about doing the most work after all. So, Kevin would take the empty wheel burrow back filled with at least 10 kids in it. This process continued until we had to leave. It was REALLY great! I wish I had a picture of it.
Also, last night we all met at Adam and Sara's house again to talk about our day. It was WONDERFUL. This group makes me laugh SOO freaking hard and they make me think a lot. At one point we were talking about how the day went at Argelia Alta... everyone was talking about the kids... we were talking about how it was hard, but great it was to hold kids for a long period of time just to have 4 more kids pummel you... and then Andrew, one of the guys in the group, said, "I don't even know what to do with the children after I say 'hola'" and at that moment everyone died laughing. He said he would say 'hola' to a kid and then wonder where his or her friends were so he could say 'hola' to them too. It was hilarious.
It was also really fun when we were singing a song, but forgot the 2 verses that we had already song... thus, we just hummed the verse except for the one line that we knew.
We also visited the dump in Ecuador, but I can't go into that today...
-emily
Wednesday, June 10, 2009
WONDERFUL!!! first work day.
- I was SOOO impressed by the youth on this trip! They have all just graduated from high school, and they aren't all best best friends with each other... Still, I am continually impressed by their ability to open up to the whole group and their lack of complaining (as in I have heard little to no complaints on this mission... ummm, that is highly unusual of people that travel in groups doing work they may not want to do. Thus, I am blown away by these folks.) And, these great people are so much fun to be around. I laugh all the time... which is normal for me, but I think I laugh even more and even harder... especially tonight.
- Ramiro: the pastor at Argelia Alta... he is GREAT, so GREAT! He is so freaking modest, but he has every right not be because he is probably the most accomplished person I know. He is very very generous, very welcoming, and well, these are the things that I have been informed that he has under his belt: he has 5 degrees... 3 masters degrees and 2 doctorate degrees; he played pro fĂștbol at one point in his life; he started Argelia Alta, which is a church that started out as one story, but now has 5 or 6 floors (RIDICULOUS), and not to mention that the whole Argelia community lives around the church... it is beautiful to see that done. I'm convinced he knows everyone. He has been asked to be an ambassador of many countries multiple times, but he turns the positions down every time because he wants to be at his church with the people that he loves. And, well the government calls on him for problems, questions, etc. There is probably more that I don't know about him because he is too modest to tell anyone. He didn't tell me this stuff... his friends did. SO, this guy is a HUGE lesson to me of a great great wonderful, humble, talented person.
- These great upcoming freshmen in high school are making me think a lot, and I like it. And they said some of the greatest things at debrief tonight. It was ahhh!! SO great!
- And, I hope you enjoy the pictures. This is what I've got: 1. a group of some of us tonight before bedtime. I like those folks a lot. 2. A picture of the Ecuador vs. Argentina soccer game at a University where we watched it with a whole bunch of enthusiastic, passionate Ecuadorians. Please put watching an Ecuador soccer game around Ecuadorians on your list of things to do. It is WONDERFUL! And, Ecuador won, 2-0!!! 3. and 4. WORKING on the SIDEWALK! Hard workers. 5. Linda and Mark wearing weed apparel that we pulled out of the ground.
I want to do better at remembering specific stories.
good night!
-emily
Tuesday, June 9, 2009
Quito is the COOLEST.
YO! Today I hung out with the First Pres. Church team from my hometown and home church in Nashville and it was GREAT! I was nervous, that's a fact. But, it went really well. The whole entire group is amazing, and they are making me think a whole lot (which is a good thing).
All right, you HAVE to look at this picture of Quito! This city is INCREDIBLE! It is SO freaking huge, and I tried SO hard to get the most of the city in the picture, but that would never work. This city is SO freaking huge. The portion that you are looking at in this picture is only a small portion of the whole city. The whole city is 3 to 5 miles wide and 27 miles long and, umm.... it looks like this jam packed area for about, well, the majority of the city. It is nuts and it puts me in awe every time I look at the city. This has got to be one of my favorite cities.
But, anyways it is really late, and I have to get up early. I included pictures without titles. That is probably what all of this blog is going to be like. Any questions, ask them!
Good night, friends!
-emily
Monday, June 8, 2009
I'M IN ECUADOR!
Contrary to the name of this blog, I will not be keeping a record of ECUADOR!!!!! or the history of Ecuador. Rather, I will just be talking about my time in Ecuador. I decided to keep a blog so that I wouldn't have to email all of you my updates on Ecuador in case you do not want to read them (if I am being perfectly honest... And I am not offended.) Instead, you guys have the option of reading this and I do not have to fill your inbox. I think that sounds like a good deal.
Anyways, I have been in Ecuador for over a week now, and I have finally finished orientation! There are 12 other interns that I have gotten to know and I really like them A LOT! I am working as a team host for Quito Quest, which basically means that I will have a pareja, or a partner, and we will be in charge of 3 to 4 short term mission teams coming down to Quito.
My pareja, Steve the Pirate, and I just went shopping for our first short term team that comes in tonight at 10:22pm, which I am SUPER excited about. Our first team coming is from my home church, so it will be really great to see some familiar faces.
But, other than the things that are to come, there are a lot of things that happened during the time that I have been here. There is no way that I will be able to touch on everything, but the major things that have happened are...
- I met a WHOLE bunch of new people, a lot of sweet people from the US and some great people from Ecuador as well.
- I visited a whole bunch of ministry sites getting to know the staff there.
- My spanish has improved un poquito, but more importantly my confidence to speak spanish is increasing.
- I have been really uncomfortable in a lot of new situations, but it has turned out to be nothing but good for me.
- I had a hard time adjusting, but I am really hoping that by the end of the summer that I can think of Quito as familiar and homey (like home?) place to come back to.
I don't want to make this too long, so I am going to end.
If you guys want to read this and it keeps your attention, then that is GREAT! But, I always love a good email, so please send those on to me and I will be able to reply back! And I will really want to reply back as well!
BYE!
-emily
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)